Maude

imagebam.com

Okay.. Would have had this ready at least by Monday night but I had to take into consideration the qualities of the new bristol board I’m working with.  Unlike the 157 lb Bordon & Reilly bristol vellum I’d been using, the cheaper 100 lb Utrecht’s bristol doesn’t hold onto the ink as readily.  Unless given enough time to “cure”,  apparently up to six freaking hours, the ink comes right off when trying to erase the pencil preliminary.  And knowing that I’d ultimately be applying an ink wash, I had to let the original line drawing set for as long as possible to make sure the lines wouldn’t smear under the brush.  Anyhoo, here’s the resultant ink wash study of Maude “Maw” Hefner, looking alluring in her bathrobe.  I’m probably going to pick up a set of primary colored inks when I’m next at the supply store and see if how a full color wash might turn out.

Starting bid: $30

And I can set this up as a signed print for anyone who might be interested.  Contact me at aaronneathery@gmail.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. patjade

     /  February 19, 2013

    Poor gal has seen some tough times. $30

    Reply
  2. surfstuff55

     /  February 19, 2013

    I think she looks rather fetching myself!

    Reply
  3. patjade

     /  February 22, 2013

    Looks like I’ll be “fetching” this one for a bargain.

    Reply
  4. diggerspop

     /  February 22, 2013

    How about $50.

    Reply
  5. diggerspop

     /  February 22, 2013

    And that’s stealing it.

    Reply
    • Congratulations! You got it.. Sorry for the delay.. My connection went wonky. Auction closed.

      Reply
      • patjade

         /  February 23, 2013

        I thought I had this one in the bag. I guess that’s what’s happens when I get called away for a bit. Congrats Diggerspop!

Leave a comment